Priority Paralysis, Get Thee Behind Me!

images-2Writing the intro post for my blog was fairly easy — it didn’t require a lot of decisions.  Now, here it is time for me to write my first real post and I’m gripped by priority paralysis.  What should the topic be?  I have quite a backlog of ideas that I want to explore.  Which one should I start with?  Does the first post get short shrift because, maybe, later on, I’ll have a much bigger audience? Or is it important for the first post to be a blockbuster? Why am I even doing this at all?  I could be exercising or cleaning my house, or volunteering in a soup kitchen.  Now, I’m wondering how many people’s second blog post is just this sort of self-doubting, self-referential meandering.  It also occurs to me that the wide scope of my chosen subject matter is making things worse.  If this were a new blog about, say, mowing lawns, I suppose it would still be tough to settle on my first topic, but since the theme of this blog is “the thoughts of Greg Dember” which could be anything, then we can multiply the anxiety that would theoretically attend ramping up a lawnmower blog by, approximately, INFINITY.

I can indeed say that a lot of the future material in this blog will have to do with psychology and the variety of mental states that humans experience.  So, what is the deeper layer underneath priority paralysis?  One might speculate that it is depression – an inability to feel passionate about the potential in any one of a myriad of options that are available.  But a manic state could also lead to a kind of priority paralysis — a rapid switching of focus that in the end leaves a creative person in the same place they started.  Or priority paralysis could be the result of a schizophrenic-like inability to filter out irrelevant stimuli.  Ha. <<—-  That’s me laughing at myself. I really am just rambling now.

OK, here are some topics that I hope to cover, soon.  Which one goes first will be the surprise.

1. Sociopaths! Why they exist, why they are cool sometimes, why they are dangerous often, what we can learn from them.  Probably worthy of multiple installments.
2. Generations.  As in Boomer, GenX, Y, etc…
3. The theology of virtual reality (for my friend Hayden)
4. My Theory of the Symbiotic Mind (multiple installments for sure)
5. My own urgency about having my creativity witnessed
6. Probably lots of cross-posting from the Metamodernist blog
7. Why I think Jimmy Page was the greatest musical genius, across all genres, of the twentieth century
8. etc…
9. etc…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Those are some good categories there Greg; I like mowing lawns and sociopathy. There must be correlation there somewhere.

    Reply
  2. I love it! Your humor and thoughtfulness are shining through. I’m looking forward to your “real” posts. I will read them all!

    Reply
  3. Thanks Zadok and Rachel! I hope to have more for your reading pleasure very soon.

    Reply
  4. Heather Levy

     /  January 13, 2014

    I agree that sociopaths with lower IQs get caught. Intelligence is a definite pre-requisite for socio-pathological success. Very interesting topic. I really enjoyed the flow of your writing.!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

